Howling for the Masses

Hey SOUC folk, Kyle here! Since there was no show this week due to the United State Presidential Election, I figured I would contribute in blog form on something amazing that happened!

Due to the NHL-PA enforced lockout, I’ve been struggling with what to do with my time. Typically when the World Series is over I officially turn into a hockey zombie. I mark on my calendar when the Blackhawks and Wild are playing on National TV throughout the season, my clothing attire turns from Twins shirts to Blackhawks and Wild shirts and hoodies, and anything else geekily related to being an obsessed NHL fan. So you can clearly see that I’m having a weird withdrawl-related self discovery period right now. I’ve decided to try and fill that void by following the Barclay’s Premier League and the NBA. Desperately hoping that having two sports can take my mind off of it. So far it’s been going okay but there was a huge breakthrough this past Monday night that will be etched in my brain of sports memories for years.

A day after losing to the Toronto Raptors, the Minnesota Timberwolves traveled to Brooklyn to take on the Nets at their new home. With the way they lost to Toronto and without the services of stars Kevin Love and Ricky Rubio, the Timberwolves seemed to be in for a long night against Deron Williams, Joe Johnson, and the rest of the Nets.

The Wolves were down pretty much from the get-go and the deficit grew to 22 points. However, the squad comprised of Nikola Pekovic, Derrick Williams, Luke Ridnour, Brandon Roy, Chase Budinger, Dante Cunningham, JJ Barea, & Andrei Kirilenko kept fighting. Creating 3-point chances and working as a full unit, they clawed their way back and then some defeating Jay-Z’s squad by 11 points.

This new-look group is exciting to watch, there’s no doubting that. One can only wait and dream about what will happen when Kevin Love comes back from injury within the next few weeks. I think that’s enough for me to not care about missing the NHL for a while at least.

– Kyle

Posted on November 9, 2012, in Everything, Sports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

